The third Omega is the tastiest Omega

So this is my first post, mostly because I just now realized that you have to log in to post…  IDIOT!

Anyway, in an effort to increase my “sense of place”, eat healthy and local, and get in touch with the awesome seafood that surrounds me here in Seattle I’ve been trying to eat more fishy things.   Growing up in Montana our idea of good seafood was a fat Cutthroat cooked on hot rocks in a campfire or the fish-n’-chips at Skippers.  While both of these things are supremely delicious I know there’s more out there to enjoy.

Some of you grew up closer to the water than me so I was hoping you might have some ideas for how to cook up something from the sea.  Any favorite family recipes?

For some inspiration, I “stole” a huge glob of wasabi from a sushi place the other day that I’d like to use…

3 Responses to The third Omega is the tastiest Omega

  1. Jake says:

    the yummiest thing in the world is scallops. they have a delicate flavor so don’t expect it to blow your mouth out of the water (or into the water, or sea, or…i’m an idiot) but god it’s so good. the key thing to look for in a recipe is that it involves vermouth, which you use lightly in a sautee of some sort. any respectable cook book will have such a recipe, or else they can be found online. one word of warning: you have to be careful not to overcook scallops or they get kind of a rubbery texture. if you cook them right you will be able to dissect them with your tongue (now i’m thinking about sex. still an idiot).

  2. Ben says:

    I have to agree with Jake on scallops being the yummiest, although I’m a fanboy of seafood in general. Trader Joe’s has a great flash frozen seafood mix (scallops, shrimp, calamari) that cooks quick and make for an easy stir fry or pasta addition.

    The best part of fish is how well simple recipes come out- I’m a fan of cooking it in pouches: take a sheet of tin foil, add some vegetables (onions, zucchini, tomatoes, etc), place the fish on the veges, and top it with some sauce (did someone say the magic word). Seal the tin foil, stick the whole thing in the oven and cook 15-20 min or until done. The fish stays moist, it’s easy clean up, and everyone can make their own pouch. Oh yeah, the sauce can be anything: lemon and butter, curry rub, thai chili sauce, pesto, mmmm sauces.

    FYI- be wary of farmed fish. They tend to have higher concentrations of heavy metals (mercury, et al), displace native species, and are generally harmful to the environment.

  3. Jake says:

    Dylan: “in an effort to increase my “sense of place”, eat healthy and local, ”
    Ben: “FYI- be wary of farmed fish. They tend to have higher concentrations of heavy metals (mercury, et al), displace native species, and are generally harmful to the environment.”

    I just want to say that I am proud to have friends that are socially conscious but without being wacko the way many of the people with whom I live are. I had to live at this goofy co-op to begin even pretending to care about stuff like that, you guys are doing it all on your own. I’m so ashamed…

Leave a Reply

