Unbearable Lightness of Radiohead’s New Album

So for my own cultural enrichment, I recently read Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being and have been listening to Radiohead’s latest album In Rainbows.

Starting with Kundera’s novel, I was surpised by how the simple storytelling (much very much in the style of Hemingway) was accompanied with the author’s exploration of the characters’ motivations, application of philosophy, and awareness of his own relationship with the book and the characters. Kundera has taken a simple frame work and filled it with experiences that allow the reader understand the characters’ motivations and, in my case, learn something about their own life.

The novel takes four characters and connects them to humanity. The book is a quick read and I am sure that I will pick it up again.

Now as for Radiohead, I am just no sure how they keep making great music. From the jazzy sound of the first song, 15 Steps, through the diverse rock experience that has defined Radiohead’s albums I found myself remembering all of the reasons I fell in love with the band in the first place. All I can say is that if you like them you should go ahead and download the album. The cool thing about the experience is that you get to put your own value to the music.

I hope I didn’t ruin anything for you Ben.

2 Responses to Unbearable Lightness of Radiohead’s New Album

  1. Bret says:

    Whoa – I assumed this was Ben’s post for a minute. Although I think Ben read The Unbearable Lightness of Being in that crazy Doublewide AHS course, so I thought something was funny. Oh man – we talked about that book way too much in that class. And the discussion was led by a crazy bald guy with red framed glasses that sit low on the nose. Man, that was a long time ago.

    Anyway, thanks for the reviews – I’ve been meaning to check that album out. I wonder if Ben has it already – we could listen to it this weekend in Portland.

  2. Ben says:

    Don’t worry you didn’t ruin it- I think the only thing that could ruin radiohead for me would be if the band stopped playing music and started promoting cute-icide (that’s killing all the cute things).

    I loved the Unbearable Lightness of Being- Kundera’s writing is simple, yet somehow so heavy. Nobody elicits empathy for his characters quite like he does. I highly recommend the Book of Laughter and Forgetting if you’re looking for something a little harder and more complex.

Leave a Reply

